Open Letter to My Super Special Brother Khant A Vyas

10304979_921440174538870_2771683828130003692_n

Dear Khant,

Our relationship has grown in a very strange fashion in past decade. Am I right? Ok. You may agree or you may not. Let me tell you how I have grown with you. Let me go back into the past and relive all those memories that I have of you and us. This is not a complete account, but just a short quick summary of us. You and Me.

***

Everyone used to say Khant is a very notorious and mischievous boy. You know brother, human mind is such that it easily gets affected by others opinions. One can quickly get influenced and wear glasses of others and then starts seeing the world in different colors and shades. Something similar happened when we were kids. I thought on the same line as that of elders, Khant is a notorious and mischievous boy. However, everything changed drastically when I came260499_10150213523331172_1577380_n to the occasion of your Yagnopavit Sanskar. I first time observed and felt an affectionate human side of yours. I was talking to a very energetic, affectionate, emotional and super active kid – Khant. At that time [and may be today as well] cousin closest to your heart were Krunal and Gopal. Damn it. I wanted to become the most special brother-cousin in your life. I mean it. I was trying my best to talk to you, to come close and become the best cousin. It sounds weird and strange at this moment, right? But, yeah I was in total love with you. Your innocence and intelligence was something I was attracted to.

I remember when you gave a party post that occasion in Jaldhara. At that time, you asked us to have as much food as we can, as the cost of one thali was already fixed. So, you wanted us to vasulify the function. That was so sweet, honest and loving of you. Rushi and I competed for eating maximum Gulab Jamuns and having maximum Aam Ka Ras. Unfortunately I was defeated by Rushi in that competition. Actually, I have been defeated by all when it comes to your love and attention. Always, some or the other has been your favorite brother and not me. I was sad about it, and I am sad about it today as well.

***

When I was at Mangal Villa, that was the best time spent with you and the worst as well. At one side I was fighting an emotional battle and the other side I was fighting an ideological battle. People around us used to treat you and take your words differently than they used to take others. Because they believed you are short tempered, you are hyper active and you are not mature, etc. So to handle the situation and pacify you they used to be like that towards you. But, in spite of having tremendous affection towards you I was of opinion that I will be straight and blunt. I don’t want to flatter you or pretend to be all cool and nice towards you. Because I don’t see you as an abnormal, hyper active, short tempered person. You are as normal as everyone else around. It’s just that you are different than others, you are extremely energetic and emotional and very very innocent like a small kid. That’s it. Because of my this stand, where all other cousins were being sweet and nice to you, I was being real. And may be seemed rude to you. I used to tell your follies and problems I had with you on your face. Because of this, I guess, you started disliking me, you started thinking that I have certain kind of disrespect/disregard for you. But, O Dear Khant, it was nothing like that ever. It was my sheer love for you that I was being REAL and not pretending to make you happy all the time buy flowery words which eventually can make you fragile and incompetent. All the time spent with you, from having special dosa’s at Manek Chawk to having Paan ice creams at Happiness Vadilal, from roaming in Maninagar to visiting Indroda park, from 254394_10150213523246172_6667186_ncelebrating Kite Festival to doing Masti in social functions, from teaching you Engineering Math to fighting with you on personal belief and issues, was unforgettable.

It was indeed a great time spent with you. I still recall our debates, where we used to reach to an extreme that we will just fight if we don’t stop at that given moment! Wasn’t that amazing brother? To have different opinions about career, about way of life, and present that to each other without a fear of being judged and then debate as if this is the battle field of life and death! Ha ha! I would say that was the time when I discovered an intelligence of yours. Before that it was like “Khant is a very sensitive and emotional boy.” But, through our discussions and debates I got to know how intelligent you were. You know what? Intelligence doesn’t come from 80 percent or 100 percent mark-sheets, it comes form the originality of thought. You have that brother. You are an original thinker. Best thing about you is you don’t just read books and note down lines and then quote it during your speech/discussion/debate. In stead of that, you observe REAL thing, you experience REAL thing, you analyse and think deeply about that REAL thing and then you come to a conclusion [conclusion can be right, wrong or partially right or wrong] and then you present those views to people with utmost honesty and conviction. That’s REAL you. That’s a great sign of being a great thinker brother. [I forgot to add one thing, you are not like other blind stubborn debaters who just can’t listen to others’ views and keep singing their own song. You are quite open to others’ views. You will listen to them and if you find them logical and correct in your world view then you will accept your fault and appreciate their point of view. To accept one’s mistake and learn form others  is a great virtue.]

555024_412074908821370_250057284_nIn this period I learnt one more thing about you. You are a family man. Yeah, I know you have lots of issue with lots of people! Just kidding. But, I have observed this in every event of our lives, taking care of your cousin sisters, or being a host at festivals, or doing house hold work to help your mother, or taking small kids along to gift them few smiles and happiness, you are not only emotional and intelligent. You are the family man. You are the man of people. That is something very good about you. If someday I will be in trouble in life, I know that Khant will be there for me not as an emotional friend or an intelligent partner, but he will be there as my own family.

***

There are few more instances which touched my heart. I would like to share that here. The collage you made from photographs of your father was excellent and touching. It says it all about how strong and close bond you had with Masaji. Moreover, you sketched his portrait, so nice and so next to perfect. It says a lot about you and about him and about your relation.

Similarly, in Krunal’s marriage, [people usually end up buying something and gift that to the bride and groom] you decided to gift your love by the means of your own time and your own skill. That was so lovely and touching. Critically speaking the sketch of Krunal and Zeal was not that great. But that gesture and intention of yours say it all about the love you have for your brother.

The way you studied with dedication for your board examination, just before Rajan’s marriage in Rajkot, and still enjoyed the entire marriage function, shows your boldness and Zindadil attitude of life. It’s really commendable. The way you show commitment to Yoga and Exercise is amazing. I wish someday I become health conscious and take care of my health and fitness the way you do. My health is deteriorating day by day. Your this dedication towards the work you love was also visible in Ehsaan Kureshi’s mimicry you used to do. That was simply amazing brother. When are you going to show us the next mimicry?

You also told one story from your childhood that you went to buy something from a shop and for many hours you just waited there because you committed something to someone. I forgot the exact event details. But, when I heard this story from you, I was really moved to see your commitment. That day I felt that you are the man who can do anything if he decides to that. You will surely conquer in all the endeavor in life when you will work with complete heart and hard work. I am very much sure about it. Go go go, you will nail it bro!

10497848_927014620648092_6346103832051021961_o

There are many things to say and share. I am guilty that I was not and am not able to spend much time with you [on call, message or at Ahmadabad] after the sudden demise of your father. I am virtually disconnected from everyone right now. Here, I am also fighting my battle to swim against the tide and make a big name for myself in fiercely scary and competitive world of media and films.I wish I achieve my dreams soon and so as you achieve your goals and live a life of your dreams.

Lots of love.

Yours,

Parth Vyas

PS: No one is perfect in this world. So, keep looking inwards. Be the harshest critique of yourself and keep improving yourself. Keep becoming better. One day you will be the best. I bet!

Leave a comment